Micro Drama Reviews: May 2018

The new won’t come if the old ones don’t go. Some of these dramas are welcome with ‘good ridden’, while some obviously were so good you wish it didn’t have to end because it’s only a new beginning…

Suits

by Jang Dong Gun, Park Hyung Sik, Jin Hee Kyung, Chae Jung An, Go Sung Hee and Choi Gwi Hwa

All that hype and concern it may not sit well with the original Suits’ fans, but glad to know that it is receiving good reviews and ratings. I like it too, but I don’t love it, yet. I very much want to, but the show focus very little on the characters’ backstory (especially emotions) and more on each case they work on. Eight episodes in, which means we are half way through, there’s still so much more hasn’t been addressed. In this sense, it is a bit worrisome because I want to learn about these characters and their backstory; their growth and inner emotions, but I’m not getting much out of it.

This week’s episodes had me wondering how does Go Yeon Woo (Park Hyung Sik) feeds and pays for anything if he isn’t paid for the work he has been doing for Kang and Nam?—did he pay his expenses through the credit card Choi Kang Seok (Jang Dong Gun) gave him?

 

Come and Hug Me

by Jang Ki Yong, Heo Jun Ho, Jin Ki Joo, Nam Da Reum, Ryu Han Bi

Although it’s too early to know what the writer intend to tell in his/her story, but just like how I Remember You / Hello Monster which tells the story from a psychopath’s perspectives, I like that this drama is exploring the life and perspectives of the perpetrator’s family and victims. It gives food for thought and is a fresh and interesting take.

The first 8 episodes (30 mins length) are gripping. Heo Jun Ho is extremely terrifying; his mere presence sucks the oxygen out of the atmosphere. Child actor Nam Da Reum who plays young Yoon Na Moo give another outstanding performance. His character is reserved and quiet, but you could see he’s kind, but strong in the mind and his eyes are the windows to his emotions. I will be sad once the story shift to the present because I want to see more from him. I can’t wait for this boy to grow up and be the leading man in his own shows! That said, I like Jang Ki Yong as well, and he is delivering a solid performance too. He, in the police force’s uniforms and the silent tears, has already captured my attention.

To be honest this kind of plot is usually one that I’d shun away because it’s too twisted and melo. I mean, c’mon, there is no way Gil Nak Won/Han Jae Yi (Jin Ki Joo) and Na Moo/Chae Do Jin (Jang Ki Yong) would have a happy life together knowing that his father murdered her family. It’s not something easy for one’s to forgive and forget, even though Na Moo/Do Jin isn’t the one to blame. They will forever be haunted by this nightmarish past, either by the victim’s family or their own trauma. But, the show is really gripping and because I really like Jang Ki Yong, Nam Da Reum and Heo Jun Ho that I’m willing to go through this twisted fate and see what good may come out of it… fingers crossed and hope for happy ending, but even if it’s not and Na Moo/Do Jin sacrifices himself to save her from his father, I’m okay with it too.

Sketch

by Rain, Lee Dong Gun, Lee Sun Bin, Jung Jin Young

Very engaging first two episodes. The plot surrounds Yoo Shi Hyun (Lee Sun Bin) and Jang Tae Joon (Jung Jin Young), who can see into the future and two victims’s family they tried to save, Kang Dong Soo (Rain) and Kim Do Jin (Lee Dong Gun).

I’m sold after the first two episodes because I enjoy the fantasy element of it, and I enjoy a show that explore how fate / future is directly affect by our own decision or choice. It’s a bit like Final Destination, where they try to evade death and change the future, but less exaggerated. I’m also liking the fact my brain cells are feeling exciting and actively thinking.

The first two episodes already had me concluded this:

Both Yoo Shi Hyun and Jang Tae Joon were preaching about Principle of Causality to Kang Dong Soo and Kim Do Jin, but the universe is so complex and they think they are just bystander trying to change the future, but little did they know the moment they decide to interfere with fate, their choice has caused a butterfly effect. From the way I see it, Kang Dong Soo and Kim Do Jin may not have lost their loved ones if they didn’t meddle with fate in the first place.

 

About Time

by Lee Sung Kyung, Lee Sang Hyun, Im Se Mi, Kim Dong Joon

Sometimes ones gotta watch the show to really find out if ones will like it or not. I almost pass on this because of negative reviews on the first two episodes from K-netizens.

Admittedly, the show isn’t great (at least not yet), but it wasn’t as bad as they had described. They were especially critical about Lee Sung Kyung’s acting—saying she’s over the top. But I disagree, I’d say her performance in here is okay compared to Weightlifting Fairy’s time which I find her acting exaggerating. In this one, she has toned down a lot. The K-netizens were critical of Lee Sang Hyun too, but I thought he was also alright so far, but nothing out of the ordinary.

The only issue I have is I’m not feeling the chemistry between the leads yet. For some, we can feel/see it immediately but some takes time to develop their chemistry. Maybe Lee Sung Kyung and Lee Sang Hyun is the latter.

 

Miss Hammurabi

by Go Ara, Sung Dong Il, Kim Myung Soo (L), Ryu Deok Hwan

Koreans find this drama refreshing because it is written by a real-life judge and (obviously) the story is written from the perspectives of a judge. The story centre around 3 judges with completely different perspective that deal with civil cases everyday.

I had a good laugh in first episode thanks to rookie judge, Park Cha Oh Reum (Go Ara) dressing up in muslim attire when she tried to prove a point to a comment about women Judge Han Se Sang (Sung Dong Il) make. I cried along with Oh Reum when she heads her first case. However, I lost a little interest when she starts debating about right and wrong with Im Ba Reun (Kim Myung Soo/L). I will still give it another go, but it’s starting to feel I’m getting overdose with all these lawyer/justice centric theme dramas…

 

Lawless Lawyer

by Lee Jun Ki, Choi Min Soo, Seo Ye Ji, Lee Hye Young

I really like Choi Min Soo in Jackpot (or Daebak), but I can’t get into this drama. I’m never a fan of Lee Jun Ki too, and he has failed to win over my heart once again.

The story is old school too, feels like the typical you-killed-my-family-I’ll-seek-revenge-and-justice-on-you, plus corruption in the system.

Just doesn’t gel with me at the moment. Maybe, maybe next time.

 

Other completed dramas:

  You Drive Me Crazy!

by Lee Yoo Young, Kim Sun Ho and Sung Joo

Maybe MBC should consider doing more drama specials, because their special is actually better than their mini-series dramas. Han Eun Sung (Lee Yoo Young) and Kim Rae Wan (Kim Sun Ho) are BFF, but one night with the help of alcohol, they had a one night stand. Things got awkward for them, but good for us to watch, because their chemistry were off the chart and electrifying!

Many people commented they wanted more, 2 episodes weren’t enough and I agree. Can we perhaps throw these two into a 16 episodes romance drama and fell in love all over again? Yes?

 

Live

by Lee Kwang Soo, Jung Yu Mi, Bae Sung Woo, Sung Dong Il, Lee Si Un, Shin Dong Wook

Once you get past the first two episodes, you would not want to put this down! But be warned, this isn’t a happy drama and tissue box is recommended to be present in almost each episode (especially the end). This show has laughter, tears, pains, heartaches, helpless situations — basically it’s life.

I don’t know how realistic it is in terms of the Korean police force system, but if these are all true, my first thought is “I would not want to be a police in Korea”. It’s a terrible system where the police has to fight crime mostly with their fists and fear for their own lives because using guns could indict them and be sent to jail. On the other hand, I like that this drama always shows two sides of everything—different views and perspectives. Live reminded us polices are human too, which we most of the time we forget because they are always potrayed to be kind, helpful and invincible in action movies.

 

My Ahjussi

by Lee Sun Kyun, Lee Ji Eun (IU), Go Doo Shim, Park Ho San, Jang Ki Yong, Kim Young Min, Lee Ji Ah

This drama moves like snail at first. The episodes weren’t boring, but the tone is dark and heavy that it’s uncertain if many would find it enjoyable. But once you get into it; the characters really grow on you. Now I just want myself an Ahjussi too.

I didn’t try out this drama because of the plot (I didn’t even know much about it) or the actors. It was solely because this drama is directed by Kim Won Suk, who previously directed Signal and Misaeng, and written by Park Hae Young who wrote Oh Hae Young Again. I loved these 3 dramas so I gave it a go.

My utmost surprise is definitely from the writer Park Hae Young because Oh Hae Young Again and My Ahjussi are two completely different type of writing styles and stories, especially the female characters are on two sides of the spectrum. Oh Hae Young basically wears her emotions on her sleeves and is so expressive, whereas Lee Ji An always wear a deadpan expression and hide her emotions.

My favourite actors (and characters) obviously had to be Park Dong Hoon (Lee Sun Kyun) and Lee Ji An (Lee Ji Eun / IU), but I also developed a soft spot for Lee Gwang Il (Jang Ki Yong). They really gave a strong performance (and impression). It’s difficult to describe this drama because I find it resonated with everyone differently, maybe because we all live very different kind of lives in all parts of the world. Like Live, it’s also about ‘living’ and ‘life’, but on a less adrenaline induced scale. I don’t think this show provides answers on how to live our life or how to live happily or comfortably, but it does provide us comfort by reminding us that our life can be beautiful and precious if we change our way of viewing it. I love the open ending; love how they both had a new beginning in life, but I also wish it hasn’t ended there because Dong Hoon and Ji An’s love and interactions are so addictive.

 

 The Great Seducer / Tempted

by Woo Do Hwan, Kim Min Jae, Moon Ga Young, Joy

“What a bloody mess!” is the conclusion I’ve drawn regarding this drama. The writer should ask for forgiveness from the actors who dedicated themselves to such crappy adaptation of the French novel titled Les Liaisons dangereuses by Pierre Choderlos de Laclos. The promotional previews gave us the illusion that Kwon Si Hyun is a dangerous, heartless or ruthless great womanizer, but what we see is in just a few episodes in he was quick to be smitten by his prey—his character just didn’t live up to what was advertised. And then there is Eun Tae Hee, the girl who supposedly is totally uninterested and resisted to fall in love this whole time is seen almost immediately fall for her predator. She was the easiest prey I’ve ever seen in any dramas or movies. /FACEPALM

I feel terribly disappointed that Kim Min Jae continues to take on or offer roles that leaves very little impact in his acting career after garnering some attention from Romantic Doctor and Goblin. And then there’s Woo Do Hwan, who recently has been in the eyes of media for the potential next-big-thing… what a pity he hand-picked this terrible project after his success in Save Me and Mad Dog.

It’s frustrating to see two potentially next-big-thing doing something so crappy. It makes me mad. I quite like Moon Ga Young‘s acting in this drama even though Choi Soo Ji is a spoilt, bratty bitch I cannot resonate with, but I do believe she can be a mainstream female lead in the future.

 

A Poem A Day

by Lee Joon Hyuk, Lee Yoo Bi, Jang Dong Yoon, Shin Jae Ha

I’m on Ye Line and where’s the express train that can take me to Dr. Ye Je Wook (Lee Joon Hyuk)? LOL. I just had to say this at least once, hehe.

The show is quite plain, but overall I do enjoy the many humour, and watching the deadpan Ye Je Wook transforms into a man in love, doing silly things with a straight face. I thought I might cringe when he becomes a love fool, but surprisingly, it makes it more comedic but sweet that he is smiling so widely and happy, and that he’s such as sweet and caring boyfriend to Woo Bo Young (Lee Yoo Bi).

My only gripe is the drama failed to give Shin Min Ho (Jang Dong Hyun) his character growth; I was appalled that at the end he was being such a childish jerk towards Bo Young when he found out she had been dating Ye Je Wook. I understand why he’s angry, but it doesn’t sit well when he literally turns back into a mean bully. The drama also failed to give Kim Nam Woo (Shin Jae Ha) more story and character development.

 

Pretty Noona Who Buys Me Food / Something in the Rain

by Son Ye Jin, Jung Hae In, Jang So Yeon, Jung Yoo Jin

I’m glad it ended. The last 2-3 weeks’ episodes have been difficult and unbearable to watch; mostly because I wanted to go into the screen and strangle Yoon Jin Ah’s mother. No matter how much she loves her own children and wants the best for them, she has no right to trample on others’ children like she did. Her worst crime is her bad behaviour and treatment to the kids she has care for to their adulthood! She was supposed to like a second parent to them, so her actions are even more unforgivable, disgusting and appalling.

That said, this romance is so painfully realistic it makes me cringe because I happen to know a couple that went through similar situation. I don’t know the full detail, but their situation was worse because the guy’s mother threathened to kill herself if they don’t break up. They dated other people too after that, but like Seo Joon Hee (Jung Hae In) and Yoon Jin Ah (Son Ye Jin), they remained in each other’s life. Many years passes, eventually his parents cave in and allow them to be married because their precious son is no longer young and is of marriage age, just like Jin Ah.

Even if their romance or situations were relatable, and not that I don’t get it, but the process is still very frustrating to watch. Actually, not just the romance, but watching and stomaching a female character like Jin Ah was very frustrating. Maybe because I’m not like her, so I can’t stand watching her endure her mother’s bully. It was hard watching her allowing her mother say so many hurtful things to both Kyung Sun and Joon Hee. I understand she’s torn in between, I understand it’s probably a cultural difference thing that she and I have, but if her brother could yell back and speak some sense into their mother, why can’t she try harder to get her mother to understand her? Why doesn’t she let her mother know that Joon Hee was always around protecting her from that byeontae ex-boyfriend her mother look upon so fondly due to his background? Which parent would not see Joon Hee in another light if they knew he was protecting their little girl from a big bad wolf?

This drama leaves a bitter taste in my mouth because it didn’t convince me that Jin Ah tried very hard to help herself and Joon Hee earn her parents’ approval. She just lets it be until it got so bad that both lovebirds stop communicating with one another, hiding behind the excuse that they are doing it for the best of each other, when in reality, both of their hearts were worn out and couldn’t handle the pressure which led to their ultimate break up.

 

CHECKING OUT NEXT:

   

 

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑