Micro Drama Reviews: April 2018

It has been a long time since the last post on dramas. With some time off thanks to the Easter holiday, I found some time and energy to express how I feel about the current and completed dramas in summary.

P.S. Most of these dramas are in their early stage of airing, therefore the review is only “first impression”.

Eulachacha Waikiki

by Kim Jung Hyun, Lee Yi Kyung, Son Seung Won, Jung In Sun, Go Won Hee, Lee Joo Woo

Once you get through the first two episodes, you’ll enjoy the slapstick comedy this show brings you. It’s light and funny, perfect drama to lighten up when you most need to relax and laugh!

Little baby Sol is soooo adorable and wish there was more of her; she and her little costume always makes me go a little clucky, which doesn’t come by very often. Although Kim Jung Hyun is the main lead of this show, but look out of the hilarious scene stealer, Lee Yi Kyung. I’m happy he’s finally gotten more notice from the media/viewers after all these years of playing small roles.

The story has gotten a little meh at the end, particularly with the romance between Kim Jung Hyun and Jung In Sun not moving forward, but I’m glad the comedy is still there to put a smile on my face.

Live

by Lee Kwang Soo, Jung Yu Mi, Bae Sung Woo, Sung Dong Il, Lee Si Un, Shin Dong Wook

The first two episodes were moving at snail pace that I almost gave up. Thank god I didn’t, because once the kids became rookie police, the story immediately became a whole lot interesting.

You began looking forward to see how these rookies pissed off their sunbaes each episode, or how they screw up at the crime scenes etc., to how through these mistakes, they started to learn, grow and mature.

Don’t give up like me, keep watching!

My Ahjussi

by Lee Sun Kyun, Lee Ji Eun (IU), Go Doo Shim, Park Ho San, Jang Ki Yong, Kim Young Min, Lee Ji Ah

Another drama with story that move like snail. The episodes weren’t boring, but the tone of this drama is dark and heavy. It leaves you wondering where this show is going with its plot, and why we are watching several adults being manipulated by a girl.

I pity IU‘s upbringing where she lives like a zombie, working non-stop to pay off her debt; taking care of a disabled grandmother, and getting herself beaten up every other day by a good looking thug played by Jang Ki Yong, who seems to hate her for no apparent reason. Four episodes in we finally get an insight to bits and pieces of her backstory and the connection between Lee Sun Kyun and her character. It isn’t a drama that really make me feel ‘Wow, I want more’ but strangely, I want to continue so I can find out how it will end, and what is going to happen to both the leads, with the obvious curiosity on what Lee Sun Kyun will do when he finds out his wife has been cheating on him with his hoobae aka. CEO of his company that he dislikes. Eck, it’s gonna be a mess!

The Great Seducer / Tempted

by Woo Do Hwan, Kim Min Jae, Moon Ga Young, Joy

Whilst the above dramas take their sweet time to “get to the point”, this drama waste no time jumping straight into seducing the target i.e. Joy, and she wasted no time to fall for our male lead, which I find a teensy wee bit too easy for him. A little more resistance or push and pull would have been more interesting, yunno? It moves so quick that it leaves me wondering and worrying what the rest of the epsidoes are going to be about now. Our ‘great’ seducer, Woo Do Hwan may be cute and sexy at times, but he’s definitely isn’t skilled or great in seducing women (maybe this is why they changed the title of the drama, LOL).

At the rate it is going, I’m actually hoping for a time jump where they all became adults and they restart their love game again because heck, right now, it just feels like I’m watching 4 kiddos playing with fire, and worrying about their not-so-important-first-world-issues (Heirs’ vibe much?). Noona is getting too old for this… but noona has got the hots for Woo Do Hwan and Kim Min Jae so noona is being patient and keep on watching.

A Poem A Day

by Lee Joon Hyuk, Lee Yoo Bi, Jang Dong Yoon, Shin Jae Ha

I was very ignorant about this drama and its production development ever since news about it was out, but since the setup surrounds the stories of physio therapists working in a hospital, the expectation would be that the drama will be serious and perhaps, heavy. However, it was a delight to see the tone of the show is light and encouraging, and the characters were mostly comedic and funny. Although the heroine, Lee Yoo Bi had a lot of hardships but her optimistism and attitude towards her life and work are the highlight of the show, and give me some strength to carry on with my own tough work life. Got to give some credit to the two physio therapist noobs Shin Jae Ha and Jang Dong Yoon as well — the show became a lot more interesting and fun because of them.

Pretty Noona Who Buys Me Food / Something in the Rain

by Son Ye Jin, Jung Hae In, Jang So Yeon, Jung Yoo Jin

PLAIN. It’s really plain.

Without the fantasy conflict/drama that most romance dramas have, it’s really a worry and uncertainty how this drama will be able to hold onto its storyline, as well as keep the audiences captivated for 16 long 1-hour episodes. So far K-netizens are liking the ‘plain-ness’ and its realistic approach towards 30-years old working women, because they find this set up relatable.

As the main focus of this story is noona-dongsaeng romance again, my only wish is the show would not screw up the beauty of the romance like Temperature of Love did with unnecessary bitchy or conniving acts from the secondary characters. *Fingers crossed*

Misty

by Kim Nam Joo, Ji Jin Hee, Jeon Hye Jin, Im Tae Kyung, Jin Ki Joo, Ahn Nae Sang

Even though consumed by flaws and sins, Go Hye Ran is an inspiration to all females. She may not be a saint, a good wife/lover and a mother, but as a working woman her confidence in her work and her fiery strength to fight and confront her enemies deserve a lot of admiration. At times, I wish I could channel her and put my co-workers in place like Hye Ran does.

Although the finale was disappointing and unsatisfying because the writer has lost her/his plot and makes me question what message is s/he trying to convey, I still think we should at least acknowledge the great work the production team has achieved in its cinematography, direction, BGMs and the strong acting delivered by each cast, especially Kim Nam Joo and her charismatic on screen hubby, Ji Jin Hee.

Radio Romance

by Yoon Doo Joon, Kim So Hyun, Yura, Yoon Park, Ha Joon, Kwak Dong Yeon, Nam Da Reum.

This drama is so MEHHH and forgettable.

I feel sorry for Yoon Doo Joon and Kim So Hyun since they are both good actors, but the script lacks clear direction that even they can’t rescue it. I really wanted to see them succeed in giving me a heart-felt, kya-worthy romance story and learn more about the mechanism behind radio through Yoon Doo Joon, but that totally did not happen.

Instead, we only see the actor constantly riding on the merry-go-round struggling to free himself from his step mother’s evil clutches.

My First Love

by Lee Jung Shin, Seo Ji Hoon, Lee Yeol Eum

Time travelling to fix his love life?! I’m so in and I did.

It was completed in a marathon session and I enjoyed it. Seo Ji Hoon is the main reason I pick this up after noticing his strong appearance as the young Ha Myung Woo in Misty, although it wasn’t the first time I’ve noticed him as he also had a cameo appearance in the great crime thriller, Signal.

This show is an easy watch with happy ending, so there’s nothing much there is to complain except Lee Yeol Eum might need to work on improving her acting a little bit more. On the contrary, CNBLUE’s Lee Jung Shin has gotten better in acting.

Other completed dramas:

• Yoo Seung Ho is adorable and so cute in I Am Not A Robot. He should do more rom-com from now on, it suits him better than melo. He and Chae Soo Bin made a lovely on screen pairing, and did I mention little Seung Ho is all grown up and has become a good kisser? The rating crash and burn, but I didn’t think this show was that disastrous though and had enjoyed watching Seung Ho’s comedic expression throughout.

• Prison Playbook is a another gem created by Shin Won Ho (director of Reply series) which I don’t think anyone should miss. Loved the casts too; they are filled with colourful personalities! Love the black humour as well.

It isn’t my first drama of Choi Daniel, but Juggler is definitely the first character of his that I grew to like. The drama is an OK—I don’t love it; I don’t dislike it either.

• Hwayugi is a total disaster as a whole. Another drama which I feel sorry for the casts. Hong sisters have lost their touch these days. Perhaps they should consider an early retirement and give their way for the new writers.

Looking forward to:

I hadn’t seen the original Suits, and with international netizens’ comments of how they didn’t think both actors are the perfect candidate of US version, the more reason I am not going to check out the original. I had been looking forward to Park Hyung Sik‘s return since Strong Woman Do Bong Soon, so I refuse to let prejudices ruin my viewing pleasure. Pray this is going to be good. The expectation is growing because the teasers are making it look so cool…

Teasers:

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑