Micro Drama Reviews: December 2016

001-a-vert

December 2016!!! Can’t believe another year of my drama watching journey is about to be over. Has it been a fruitful year of good dramas? Yes, I think so, and definitely a year that I’ve watched the most too! Not sure I should be proud of it as it somehow shows I have no life outside dramas, LOLLL.

Goblin

by Gong Yoo, Lee Dong Wook, Kim Go Eun, Yoo In Na, Yook Sung Jae, Hwang Seok Jeong and Lee El.

Goblin (also known as Guardian: The Lonely and Great God) is currently one of my favourite dramas of the month. Can’t believe I declare it ‘favourite’ since I detest 99% of Kim Eun Sook’s past dramas!!!

For the first half of episode 1, I wasn’t taken with the the Goryeo sageuk part, but loved the rest of the second part. Little Eun Tak’s acting was awesome and heart-wrenching. The nuance first-meet raining scene between Ji Eun Tak (Kim Go Eun) and Kim Shin (Gong Yoo) were artistically shot with beautiful background music. We also can’t forget the firy and cold, but hilariously intriguing co-habitation and bickering between Shin and Grim Reaper, Wang Yeo (Lee Dong Wook). The combo of Goblin, Grim Reaper and Yoo Deok Hwa (Yook Sung Jae) are plain bonus and always enjoyable to watch.

Episode 2 seals the deal for me when Eun Tak smile brightly and innocently by declaring ‘I Love You’ to Shin in Quebec, Canada. She not only had Shin’s heart then and there; she had mine too. The special effects are thumbs up, and I think we have CJ E&M / tvN to thank for. All the characters are lovable, particularly Gong Yoo, Lee Dong Wook and Kim Go Eun—they are so darn cute in their characters—and a lot of this is due to the actors’ own charm, interpretation and chemistry. I like the fantasy and whole setup of this show so far, but I don’t want Wang Yeo turning against Shin, and cause Shin harm after he remember the past. I want them to bicker endlessly, be besties, and when need be, join hands to fight evil.

I really like Goblin, so I am wishing hard Kim Eun Sook does not screw this one up.

 

Legend of the Blue Sea

by Lee Min Ho, Jeon Ji Hyun, Lee Hee Joon, Shin Hye Sun, Lee Ji Hoon, Shin Won Ho and Sung Dong Il.

As this show is written by Park Ji Eun, who wrote You Who Came from the Star, there is a lot of similarities in the format this show is presented. Flashes of the past and then tell the story of the present was very YWCFTS-like, so is the epilogue. I enjoyed it, but it also makes the show predictable.

Sim Chung (Jeon Ji Hyun) is so quirky and funny, I love it. Kim Dam Ryung / Heo Joon Jae (Lee Min Ho) are both swoon-worthy in their own unique way, but I wish to see more depths written into Joon Jae’s character. There isn’t much story to tell for Dam Ryung and Seo Hwa, which is a pity, because I do want to see more sageuk Lee Min Ho.

Cameos are something to look out for when watching this show, and Jo Jung Suk’s cameo deserve an honourable mention. All his scenes are fan-ta-bu-lousss and hilarious with Jeon Ji Hyun. The Mermaid couple do make me laugh, but somehow Jo Jung Suk and Jeon Ji Hyun combo were waaay funnier.

 

Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim

by Han Suk Kyu, Seo Hyun Jin, Yoo Yeon Seok, Yang Se Jong and Jin Kyung

This show has its up and down in certain episodes due to Kang Dong Joo (Yoo Yoon Seok) behaving naive and childishly that it frustrates me for several episodes, but then when he stops being a cry baby and the show goes on to show me doctors doing their jobs to save lives, I am happy again. Hence, I am declaring it the best medical Korean drama I have ever seen. I have also grown fond of Do In Bum (Yang Se Jong) because I could see he isn’t going to turn out to be like his father, and I admire his calmness that puts him on the opposite end with Dong Joo, who wears his emotions on his sleeves. I have to admit, I developed a crush on In Bum because of his coolness and you have to admit, he is cute.

It was a relief that the kickass Dr. Yoon Seo Jung (Seo Hyun Jin) is back in the game, as Seo Hyun Jin has been playing a timid doormat who constantly gets belittled by Kim sabu (Han Suk Kyu) for several episodes. I was beginning to think it’s a waste of Hyun Jin’s talent if the writer continues to make her unhelpful in medical scenes.

The surgical scenes have declined, hmph, but the ER scenes are still great. Kim sabu is supposed to be the best surgeon in South Korea, so I hope the surgical scenes will return, especially after hinting that he is forming a Team Medical Dragon v2.0 of his own. Eeek, how intriguing! Team Medical Dragon (or Iryu) isn’t my favourite medical J-drama, but the first season was a very good watch. If this show is a combo of Code Blue and Team Medical Dragon, oh my god, I’m going to die.

 

Weightlifting Fairy, Kim Bok Joo

by Lee Sung Kyung, Nam Joo Hyuk, Lee Jae Yoon, Kyung Soo Jin, Ji Il Joo, Kang Ki Young and Choi Moo Sung.

Lots of praises for this drama on the internet, which is great news for my bias Nam Joo Hyuk, since he was heavily criticised for his wooden acting in both School 2015 and Scarlet Heart: Moon Lover.

As for how I really think of this show… it’s an OK. It’s light and youthful, relatable to teenagers’ reality where they are in search of ways to advance and achieve their dreams. I am so happy that Lee Sung Kyung finally found this lovely character where she can shine. Same for Nam Joo Hyuk, but I am still wondering when these two will find their ways to each other, LOLLL.

Please start soon because it is getting reaaaaallyyyy late!

 

The Man Living in Our House

by by Kim Young Kwang, Soo Ae, Lee Soo Hyuk and Jo Boa

BAD. BAD writing! This show lacks a lot of things, and one of them is bad script! I feel sorry the casts have to act through such hollow and boring script. Is the webtoon this bad or it’s just writer Kim Eun Jung who has screwed up? She wrote Flower Boy Next Door, and I thought it did well back then for a drama on cable TV?

This show is lucky that it’s nearing its end, so it’s no point dropping it now, and more importantly, Kim Young Kwang is still cute…

Oh yeaaah, I completely forgot I haven’t seen the finale episode. Oopsie.

 

Chef: Mitsuboshi no Kyushoku

by Amami Yuki

It’s Amami Yuki and food… there is no way I will miss it. It’s not the best of Amami Yuki’s dramas, but I quite enjoy each week she and her kitchen-mates get thrown into new challenges cooking up something delicious for the school kids. Just don’t expect too much from the drama because it’s very predictable and Yuki always pulls through—because she’s the best and cooks the best dishes and they are all saigo no oishii, LOL LOL. Oh yeah, it’s also not the best cooking/food drama I’ve seen too, but it’s a light and easy-to-watch drama so I’m not complaining.

It’s also one of those motivating dramas Japanese always produce to help its people get through their daily busy and tiring life, so yeah, once in awhile it helps boost our energy and motivates us to get through the day in good mood.

 

Nigeru wa Haji da ga Yaku ni Tatsu

by Aragaki Yui, Hoshino Gen, Otani Ryohei and Ishida Yuriko

Nigeru wa Haji da ga Yaku ni Tatsu (also known as We Married as Job) is a weird drama to be honest, telling the story of jobless Moriyama Mikuri (Aragaki Yui) becoming a contract housewife hired by Tsuzaki Hiramasa (Hoshino Gen). Since this isn’t a job widely accepted by the society or their family, they decided to fake the marriage. So yay to co-habitation, but nay to the slow loveline development. This show needs a K-drama touch to speed things up.

But amazingly it is well received by Japanese viewers, and the ending dances at the end of episode gone viral. *Shrugs* I honestly don’t see what’s so great about that dance though, LOL. I marathoned 8 episodes on a weekend because I was bored. It was addictive at first seeing how Mikuri slowly breaks into the life and heart of Tsuzaki Hiramasa. However, by episode 8-9, I was getting sick of watching Tsuzaki running away each time Mikuri advances. It is also rather unbelievable that he is portrayed so innocently to the point of feeling no desire or sexual urges.

One bonus I got out of this show had to be Otani Ryohei, who I crushed on when I watched Joseon Gunman, and he was also in The Admiral: Roaring Currents with Bo Gum. Funny that he actually debuted in South Korea first, and I did not know he went back to act in Japan.

 

Pretty Proofreader

by Ishihara Satomi, Suda Masaki, Honda Tsubasa and Kishitani Goro

This drama has recently ended, and it was a good, fun watch till the very end. I even learnt to like Orihara Yukito (Suda Masaki), the male lead.  :p I had trouble acknowledging the show telling me he is an ikemen in the beginning, and I still don’t think he is, but slowly, he grew on me as his interactions with Kono Etsuko (Ishihara Satomi) went from awkward to cute.

The thing I love about Etsuko is her professionalism and determination to do her very best, even if it isn’t a dream job. I admire her attention to detail and strives to uncover the truth, and that she does not do a half-hearted job. I don’t expect perfection, but these are positive traits that I believe modern people lack nowadays which they could learn a lot from the Japanese. All in all, this show wins in providing encouragement by opening up our eyes to see our jobs from another perspectives. We may still dislike what we do some times, but surely there are times where we do take pride of the achievement we deliver.

 

First Seven Kisses

by Lee Cho Hee, Choi Ji Woo, Lee Jun Ki, Park Hae Jin, Ji Chang Wook, Ok Taecyeon, Lee Jong Suk, Lee Min Ho, Kai and Kim Woo Bin.

Insane casts. Goosebumps inducing web drama. I have only seen 2 episodes, and I can already tell I will hate it, but I’m still going to watch it for the insane amount of all star casts, LOL.

Each episode is very short where Choi Ji Woo only appears for less than 5 minutes. Lee Jun Ki‘s behaviour gives me the creep, because he is that stalker Church Oppa whom I shouldn’t go home with and nearly kiss. Meanwhile Park Hae Jin totally rock in those suit and hair as her boss, so sexy that I would have settled with him if I did not know who else is next on the list. Ji Chang Wook appears as a secret agent (hello, Healer) in episode 4, and I wish he didn’t have to play another Healer-like role.

 

Sound of Your Heart

by Lee Kwang Soo, Kim Mi Kyung, Kim Dae Myung, Jung So Min.

Sound of Your Heart is also a web drama which I read the first half is aired on Naver, but the second half will be aired on KBS.

Each episode is short, but absolutely hilarious. All the main casts are hilariously funny in their own unique way. The best episode I have seen had to be #12 where Omma Kim Mi Kyung bans her family speaking Korean and can only speak English.

We should also look out for some cameos in the show too e.g. Song Joong Ki, Kim Jong Kook and Jung Joon Young.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

