Micro Drama Reviews: October – November 2016

page24

Saw a few dramas I enjoyed and a few I didn’t, so I just want to spazz about the good ones, as well as rant a little of the bad.

Romantic Doctor, Teacher Kim

by Han Suk Kyu, Seo Hyun Jin, Yoo Yeon Seok and Jin Kyung.

At first it felt like dévà ju when the mystery doctor beats up young Kang Dong Joo in the ER—it reminded me so much of Doctors, and coincidentally this drama is also produced by SBS. I even thought it was written by the same writer. As I continue on, I realise the calibre of this show makes Doctors look amateurish. The medical scenes are so much more interesting and compelling; and I love the tension and the adrenaline rush when watching the characters race to save the patients at critical moments.

Actress Seo Hyun Jin is full of awesomeness. She, alone, can carry the show on her own, but adding Yoo Yeon Seok, Han Suk Kyu and Jin Kyung—we have a pretty solid drama—and expectation is higher for this one. Okay, we can’t guarantee the story will be flawless, but at least we don’t need to worry about below average acting performances.

There are character growths planned for Yoon Seo Jung and Kang Dong Joo, where they both have their own trauma and issue to overcome. Whether they are to overcome it together or by themselves are both something to look forward to. Apart from being a mentor to both leads, Teacher Kim/Boo Yong Joo’s background and the purpose he plays in this drama are still cloudy.

… and who would have thought there is already a kiss scene in first episode?! *o* It was so unexpected; I like it! It was a visually satisfactory kiss from both leads, too. Yep. It definitely is. But it’s not an unforgettable kiss, because no kiss can beat the Doctors’ first kiss scene. LOL.

The Man Living in Our House

by Kim Young Kwang, Soo Ae, Lee Soo Hyuk and Jo Boa

I… I… I neither am sure why I enjoy watching this drama nor I can say I like every part of it. Sometimes I am even annonyed with Hong Na Ri, but sometimes I think she’s tolerable and okay.

Aaahh ahhh, I remember why now. The first four episodes had me curious of what the mystery was behind Ko Nan Gil, and who he is. This week’s episodes had me hanging on why Nan Gil fainted twice. I don’t think he has any terminal illness, but urgh, I really really want to know what or why this-still-don’t-know-how-he-is-the-legendary Ko Nan Gil has this sickness. I mean, he’s supposed to be legendary and an ex-gangster! Did he hurt his head after fighting all these years?

I also want to see how the loveline play out between Nan Gil and Na Ri. It’s obvious that Nan Gil wants to protect Na Ri and thinks he has locked up his heart, but ones’ heart can’t be so easily controlled, so I look forward to seeing him resist, suffer, and eventually accept the fact that he loves her too much to even want to let her off to someone else’s arms. Besides, co-habitation is ALWAYS fun to watch no matter how cheesy they are now.

Shopping King Louie

by Seo In Guk, Nam Ji Hyun, Yoon Sang Hyun, Oh Dae Hwan and Im Se Mi.

It’s such a happy and heart-warming drama. I like it lots. Funnily, I don’t think it’s that great, but this show definitely has magic. It lifts my spirit and puts me in a good mood after watching each episode. It’s one of those feel good drama anyone can watch, especially after a tiring work or school day.

I remember there was an episode emphasizing on Louie having a sincere heart. Things eventually turn out for him and he gets what he wishes for. I wholeheartedly agree, it’s not just Louie, the show itself has a sincere heart, and it warms my heart too.

Another thing that I thoroughly liked is each episode’s theme with its featured theme songs—it’s unique and cute. Even though the storyline is quite simple, but with the casts, it was refreshing and I was never bored. Seo In Guk is definitely the gem. I’m so happy he took the role of Louie. He plays Louie so well and so adorable that there is no way anyone can dislike his character. I also love how well he matches with Nam Ji Hyun on-screen. I don’t think there is any boring moment when they are together. Just. Too. Cute.

Yoon Sang Hyun‘s fashion is a shocker, but I am fully aware that’s done on purpose, LOL, so congrats to Yoon Sang Hyun succeeding in humouring us. I enjoy the theatrical performances too even though I reckon it got a tad too exaggerated for me to appreciate. All other characters are also so cute in their own special ways, even the villains are funnily cute and stupid, LOL. All in all, I love the positiveness that exudes from this drama.

Jealousy Incarnate

by Jo Jung Suk, Gong Hyo Jin and Go Kyung Pyo.

This drama is…

.

.

.

… confusing for me. My feelings about the show changes every week. I still remember when I started on the first episode, I was laughing so hard at Lee Hwa Shin being groped by Pyo Na Ri a million times like nobody’s business. Thus my first impression of the show was positive, but then I saw the second, third and fourth and I wasn’t sure anymore. Hwa Shin was so much of a jerk that I became conflicted—should I hate him or should I still like him because he’s played by Jo Jung Suk? And then there’s Go Jung Won—the perfect chaebol played by Go Kyung Pyo. Seriously, anyone in their right mind knows Jung Won is a better guy than Hwa Shin, except that melodramatic mother of his.

I understand the purpose of the show, but I can’t forgive the show for ruining the friendship between Jung Won and Hwa Shin, or transforming Jung Won into this pathetic egghead after being dumped by Na Ri. It felt like he had a 180° change to his personality. Show, why did you do this to uri Kyung Pyo? Why make him fade into the background like an extra in latter episodes? Jung Won deserves better treatment than this.

I appreciated certain scenes and the messages it conveys to the audiences, but overall I can’t shake off the feeling that it failed to do what it set out to do in the first place.

The K2

by Ji Chang Wook, Yoona, Song Yoon Ah

It was pretty obvious this show was going to flunk when tvN scouted Jang Hyuk Rin (Yong Pal) to pen the drama. Undoubtably, K2 is hundred times better than Yong Pal in terms of execution or production, but the actual characterisation and story are hollow. When everyone rave about how awesome the fighting scenes are, I’m probably the only one that thought it was shit. For a legendary mercenery such as Je Ha, I fully expected the enemies to go down in one hit, but our Je Ha had to exhaust himself and deliver several blows before defeating one guy. Like really? You call that legendary and the best of the BEST, show? I also can’t helped but laugh at the inconsistency that Je Ha seemingly survive through much worse injuries in episode 1 only to have a near death experience with a gun shot wound to the abdomen later on.

The K2 makes me feel like I’m watching The Expendables—a brainless movie where we purely watch a bunch of boys fighting each other—The End. What exactly is the message or the moral of this show? What am I taking away after completing this show? Is it just purely entertainment? Regretfully, I don’t even find it entertaining anymore.

True that Song Yoon Ah delivered the most compelling performance, but as it gets nearer to the end, even the great almighty Choi Yoo Jin became just as frustrating as Anna. I can no longer empathize with or relate to her character. I no longer understand why or what she is fighting for anymore. Will becoming the first lady make her happy at all? No, I don’t think so. I don’t even understand why she wanted to be one in the first place. All these constant fights become more and more meaningless because they are just fighting for the sake of fighting. This writer also sucks in writing romance; the loveline between Je Ha and Anna is unconvincing. Does Je Ha really love Anna? Why? Or it’s just his genetically programmed, male-oriented instinct making him unable to turn away from the helpless damsel in distress? One thing we supposed we should be grateful is at least one woman out of the two get a chance to shine playing her role.

Sigh, what a waste of talents.

Entourage

by Seo Kang Joon, Jo Jing Woong, Lee Dong Hwi, Lee Kwang Soo and Park Jung Min.

Three episodes in and I still can’t get into it. ㅠ_ㅠ It did not feel like the story is moving anywhere and I’m just watching 4 boys wasting their youth away.

I like Jo Jin Woong since Signal, but I’m not sure his charm is enough to keep me going. Same thing applies to Seo Kang Joon and Lee Dong Hwi; loved them when they were in Cheese in the Trap and Answer Me 1988 respectively, but in Entourage, I can’t / don’t see them shine.

2 thoughts on “Micro Drama Reviews: October – November 2016

Add yours

  1. Whooaaa. It’s like u took the words out of my mouth. More or less that is how i feel about those kdrama (the only different one is louise drama, i gave up watching it after 15 minutes of 1st episode, it’s just too much for me, i feel like they’re trying to be funny while they’re not funny at all).

    Do you have ur list of ur top 20 fav list of kdrama? I want to watch older ones, but i dont know which one i would enjoy watching. I thought we could have same taste since what u wrote is really how i thought about those dramas

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

